Apple Varieties

Vergers éco-responsables

Our orchards are 100% certified « eco-responsible orchards » and adhering to the IPM (Integrated Pest Management) charter like 1600 other apple growers in France.

We are constantly investing to reduce the environmental footprint of our activities, since our origin. This commitment is visible through concrete actions in the orchards, in the packing stations, as well as through the use of innovate transportation mechanism such rail-road-sea to reduce our carbon footprint).

Mr François Richard, éco responsible grower, in the Loire Valley.

Our Key Varieties

Fruits-Pomanjou-Internal

How many apple varieties are out there ?

A compilation of the vast majority of literature describing apples seems to indicate that at least 2000 apple varieties (called cultivar) are in existence, known under 4181 synonyms ! In France, around 50 cultivars are grown for sale.

Since its origin, Pomanjou International has been recognized as a pioneer with the development of new apple varieties. Pomanjou International became the first company to develop Granny Smith and Royal Gala in Europe. Pomanjou is constantly looking to discover, develop and bring to market new apple varieties to satisfy and surprise apple lovers from around the world.

In 1998, Pomanjou International discovered the Honeycrunch® apple variety in Minnesota and signed an agreement to be the exclusive grower and marketer for continental Europe, South Africa, and New Zealand. This variety, which is a huge success in the US, is rapidly gaining traction in Europe – especially in France in Germany – with growing volumes every year.

Pomanjou International offers, in addition to many others, the following varieties:

 

HoneyCrunch®

Honeycrunch

The variety was discovered and developed by the University of Minnesota under the name Honeycrisp. Pomanjou International introduced it in Europe in the 90s. Sold since 2000, it rapidly took off thanks to its exceptional taste profile, and unique juicy qualities, which makes it thirst-quenching and very refreshing.

Today, Honeycrunch® is mainly grown in the Loire Valley, but it can also be found closed to the Pyrenees, and in Germany where the demand is strong for this apple.

Pomanjou International markets around 15 000 tons of Honeycrunch® on a yearly basis, with plans to increase this to 20 000 in 2020.

Honeycrunch® is by nature heavily resistant to pest and other diseases (i.e. scab resistant), meaning that it needs less attention to be grown. Its cultivation is then more environmentally friendly. All Honeycrunch® orchards are certified Global GAP, the worldwide reference in terms of agricultural practices.

HoneyCrunch® is an early variety that ripens amongst the first, meaning that it is picked early, the harvest starting in late August. It is amongst the first varieties you’ll find in your shelves every year !

For more information on HoneyCrunch®  click here.

 

Joya®



A 100% French apple : the JOYA apple is grown in France in quality terroirs : in the South East, The South West, and the Loire Valley that gather well adapted soils and a maximal sun exposure.

The JOYA was first planted in the South East in 1997. Today, it represents roughly 260 hectares of orchards. It is a late variety that can consumed until fairly late in the season.

For more information on JOYA®, click here.

Juliet®



The organic apple Juliet is particularly resistant to pest and disease, which makes it the only apple solely grown following organic agriculture principles. It was introduced in 2001 in the South of France. Today, around 8000 tons of Juliet are harvested by a group of 110 apple growers.

For more information on the Juliet® apple, click here (english presentation here).

Choupette®



The Choupette® apple variety is a rustic variety, bi-colored, with a purple-red on its most colored face. Choupette® was born from research and development made by the INRA in Angers. 20 years of selection on over 15 000 seeds that were thoroughly put through their paces, were necessary to give birth to this apple variety.

It is produced from a cross of apple varieties highly resistant to scab (mushroom) as well as odium. This genetic legacy allows shrinking the amount of treatments by 4 to 5 necessary to grow the variety.

Choupette® is a unique variety in the way that it needs to mature in cold stores to develop its aroma before being eaten. It’s long conservation apple by nature, which can be consumed until very late in the season.

For more information on the Choupette® apple, click here.

Granny-Smith


Granny-Smith

Granny-Smith was developed in Australia in 1850. Today, it’s the third variety in terms of volume worldwide, and it can be found most production areas throughout the world. Acidity is predominant at harvest time, then balance between acidity and sugar will occur during storage. The fruit is slightly perfumed, with low sugar and higher acidity than others.

Always looking for the next innovation, Pomanjou was the first to introduce the variety in Europe in the 1960s.

Royal Gala


Royal Gala

This variety was created in New Zealand in the 1920s. It’s available from September to May. In France, it’s the second grown variety in terms of acreage after Golden Delicious.

This variety shows good tasting qualities, with good sugar levels, good sweetness, with low acidity and a good perfume.

Braeburn


Braeburn

Braeburn was unexpectedly found in the 1950s in New Zealand. It rapidly gained popularity thanks its ease of production : the apple trees are quickly growing apples, and in large volumes.

Braeburn has a dense flesh, and is a very crispy fruit.

Golden Delicious


golden_delicious

Golden is a green-yellow to yellow-golden fruit than can sometime show a pink blush on the skin on trees that are strongly exposed to the sun. It has a mild and sweet flavour, with good sugar level, and mild acidity. Apple trees productivity is very good, but it can be very sensible to scab depending on the soils.

 

See pear varieties : click here

Back home : click here

Les Variétés de Pommes

Vergers éco-responsables

Nos vergers sont 100% éco-responsables, et respectent la charte "qualité environnement des pomiculteurs de France".

Nous agissons pour la réduction de l’impact environnemental de nos activités depuis notre origine. Cet engagement se traduit par des actions concrètes menées aussi bien dans les vergers, dans les stations fruitières que dans les modes de transports (rail-route-mer).

Mr François Richard, producteur éco responsable, au coeur des Pays de la Loire.

Nos variétés "phare"

Fruits-Pomanjou-Internal

Combien existe-t-il de variété de pommes ?

Une compilation de la majorité des ouvrages décrivant des pommes semble indiquer qu'il existerait au moins 2000 variétés différentes (appelés cultivars), connues sous 4181 synonymes ! En France, une cinquantaine de cultivars sont cultivés pour le commerce.

Pomanjou International a depuis son origine été précurseur en terme de développement de nouvelles variétés. Ainsi, Pomanjou International a été le premier groupe à développer Granny-Smith et Royal Gala en Europe. Pomanjou est à la recherche constante de variétés différentes et meilleures à déguster.

En 1998, Pomanjou International a découvert Honeycrunch dans le Minnesota et a signé un accord exclusif de développement de la variété pour l’Europe, l’Afrique du sud et la Nouvelle-Zélande. Cette variété, qui connait un énorme succès aux USA, se développe rapidement en France et en Allemagne.

Pomanjou International propose, entre autres, les variétés suivantes :

HoneyCrunch®

Honeycrunch

Variété développée par l'Université du Minnesota sous le nom de Honeycrisp, elle a été introduite en Europe par Pomanjou International dans les années 90. Commercialisée depuis les années 2000, elle a rapidement connu le succès commercial grâce à ses bonnes qualités gustatives et son exceptionnelle teneur en jus qui la rendent désaltérante et rafraîchissante.

Aujourd'hui, elle est cultivée essentiellement dans le val de Loire, mais on la trouve aussi sur les contreforts des Pyrénées, et en Allemagne où la demande pour cette variété est forte.

Pomanjou International commercialise plus de 12 milles tonnes de HoneyCrunch par an.

Particulièrement résistante aux maladies, elle nécessite moins de soins pour sa production. Son exploitation est ainsi plus respectueuse de l’environnement : elle est certifiée Global GAP, la référence mondiale en matière de bonnes pratiques agricoles.

HoneyCrunch® est une pomme très précoce, elle se cueille dès août, c'est donc la variété qui arrive la première dans les étals des fruitiers.

Plus d'informations sur la HoneyCrunch® en cliquant ici.

Joya®

Une pomme 100% française : la pomme JOYA® est produite en France sur des terroirs de qualité : dans le Sud-Est, le Sud-Ouest et le Val de Loire qui associent une nature de sol adapté et un ensoleillement maximal.

La Joya a été plantée en premier dans le sud-est de la France en 1997. Elle représente aujourd'hui 260 hectares de vergers. C'est une pomme tardive qui se consomme jusque tard dans la saison.

Plus d'informations sur JOYA® en cliquant ici.

Juliet®

La pomme Juliet est naturellement résistante aux maladies, ce qui fait d'elle la seule pomme 100% cultivée en Agriculture Biologique. Elle a été introduite dans le sud de la France en 2001. Aujourd'hui, 8000 tonnes de Juliet sont produites par un regroupement de 110 producteurs.

Plus d'informations sur la pomme JULIET® en cliquant ici.

Choupette®

La pomme Choupette est une variété rustique, bicolore, avec un rouge-violet sur sa face colorée. Choupette est née des recherches de l’INRA d’Angers. 20 ans de sélection sur plus de 15000 semis de pépins durement mis à l’épreuve ont été nécessaires pour donner naissance à cette variété.

Elle est issue du croisement des variétés les plus résistantes à la fois à la tavelure (champignon) mais également à l’oïdium. Cet héritage génétique lui permet de diviser par quatre à cinq les traitements nécessaires à sa production.

Choupette est une variété qui nécessite une maturation au froid avant d'être consommée. C'est donc une pomme de conservation par excellence, elle se consomme jusque tard dans la saison.

Plus d'informations sur la pomme Choupette® en cliquant ici.

Granny-Smith

Granny-Smith

La Granny-Smith a été développée en Australie en 1850. C'est aujourd'hui la troisième variété mondiale, on la trouve dans tous les bassins de production. L'acidité est dominante à la récolte, puis l'équilibre sucre-acidité s'établit au cours de la conservation. Le fruit est légèrement parfumé, peu sucré à tendance acidulé.

Toujours à la recherche d’innovations, c'est Pomanjou qui introduit la variété en Europe dans les années 1960.

Recolte Granny

Royal Gala

Royal Gala

La variété a été créée en Nouvelle-Zélande dans les années 1920. Elle est disponible de septembre à mai. En France, c'est la deuxième pomme la plus cultivée après la Golden delicious.

Cette variété présente de bonnes qualités gustatives, bien sucrée, douce, peu acidulée et bien parfumée.

Recolte Gala

Braeburn

Braeburn

Elle est apparue d'un semis chanceux dans les années 1950, en Nouvelle-Zélande. Elle est rapidement devenue populaire grâce à sa simplicité de production : les pommiers donnent rapidement, et en grande quantité.

La Braeburn est un fruit à chair ferme, très croquant.

Recolte Braeburn

Golden Delicious

golden_delicious

La Golden est un fruit jaune-vert à jaune doré pouvant parfois présenter une face rosée sur les arbres très exposés au soleil. La saveur est légère, sucrée et acidulée. La productivité des arbres est très bonne, mais c'est malheureusement une variété très sensible à la tavelure.

Recolte Golden

 

Les variétés de poires

Retour à l'accueil